Tips & Tricks > Move Monitors to prevent accidental mouse on screen

Eagle117
9/8/2006 10:10:51 AM
I'm fairly new to SSP but I have had a suggestion to help out. I've noticed that sometimes during a presentation, the person running SSP accidently moves their mouse onto the second monitor that is being displayed on the projector and you see the cursor bouncing around. One suggestion I've had is to go into the Display properties of Windows XP and move the second monitor in the virtual workspace. I set the second monitor above and to the left of the main monitor that is being used. SSP still displays like normal, but now you have to move the mouse to the upper left-hand corner of the screen to get the mouse into the second monitor. You can run the mouse against the top, bottom, left, and right of the screen and it no longer accidently spills to the projector. Just make sure you understand where the monitors are virtually located so you know what corners to get the mouse from one display to another.

osborn4
9/8/2006 10:21:14 AM
Hey, that sounds like a great idea. I'll have to try that out.

How does it work if we need to drag something from the main screen to the second screen?

Eagle117
9/8/2006 10:50:30 AM
The only corner that would let you get the mouse to the second screen would be the upper left-hand corner in my example. So you just start dragging and make sure that your mouse cursor hits that corner when dragging off the primary monitor. Once you get it to the second screen, it would be the reverse, the lower right-hand corner will bring it back to the primary monitor.

Eagle117
9/8/2006 10:53:57 AM
Here is a screenshot of what it might look like: http://img171.imageshack.us/img171/2520/monitorsbc9.jpg

osborn4
9/8/2006 12:10:52 PM
I've just done some experimenting, also. It looks like it might work real well.

My only concern is that if the mouse does accidently end up on screen 2, it will be even harder to get it back than with a side by side configuration.